WHAT THEY SANG, WHAT YOU HEARD

If you were born around 1987 in Nairobi Kenya,there were songs that were hits growing up. It was difficult for parents and teachers to understand how we could cram a whole song word for word, but once you are asked to memorize the 8 times table, the furthest you could get is 8*3=24 and that is somewhat far, because you started from 0*8=0.

PS: My hardest number to remember on the times table was 8 closely followed by 9 and 7. My easiest 0, 1, 5, 10,11 and 2.  🙂 🙂

Yesterday, I was listening to some old school jams and I was laughing because some of those songs were so fresh on my mind, yet the last time I heard them was close to 12 years ago! Two things though had not changed. Despite the 12 years gap, I could only remember specific words especially from the chorus or my lyrics were nothing like the original!!!

So,I decided to find what was said in some of these songs.

1. INFORMER by Snow

I only used to hear the word “informer” then bla bla bla bla and  “a leaky boom boom men”. Now, for all of you who wanted to know what Snow used to say, here it is.

“Informer, you no say Daddy me Snow me I’ll go blame,
A leaky Boom Boom Down.
Detective mon said Daddy me Snow me stab someone down the lane,
A leaky Boom Boom Down.
Informer, you no say Daddy me Snow me I’ll go blame,
A leaky Boom Boom Down.
Detective mon said Daddy me Snow me stab someone down the lane,
A leaky Boom Boom Down.”

Try this, play the song, try and rap now that you know the words. HA! IMPOSSIBLE !!

2. BOOMBASTIC by Shaggy

This song was so popular growing up, that we had a Swahili version, that was naughty(ish) for kids who were 10 years old.  I could only sing the 1st line to the chorus and I thought Shaggy said

“I’m Mr. Boombastic telefantastic.”Clearly, I was wrong.

Here are the actual lyrics.

“I’m Mr. Boombastic say me fantastic touch me in my back she days I’m Mr.
Ro…mantic
I’m Mr. Boombastic say me fantastic touch me in my back she says I’m boom
boom”

3. ICE ICE BABY by Vanilla Ice

Ice ice baby full stop! The rest was Greek.

4. THRILLER BY Michael Jackson

I am a HUGE M.J fan, but the only words I knew and sadly still know are; “Thriller, Thriller night!” But I am not so worried, because there is Google, I can always search the lyrics 🙂

But I am not as bad as Samuel Gitau, who performed Thriller on Tusker Project fame 5. WAH! speak of  murdering a song. But, we cant blame him, he sang what he used to hear.

Here are the actual lyrics

Cause This Is Thriller, Thriller Night
And No One’s Gonna Save You From The Beast About
Strike
You Know It’s Thriller, Thriller Night
You’re Fighting For Your Life Inside A Killer, Thriller
Tonight

Did/ Do you experience the above when it comes to songs? Share your experiences.

Leave a Reply

